

# Circular to Councils

Circular Details	18-06 / Wednesday 7 March 2018 / A581525
<b>Previous Circular</b>	Circular No 17-03
Who should read this	Councillors, General Managers and council staff
Contact	Client Services - 02 4428 4100 or
	WomensAwards@olg.nsw.gov.au
Action required	Information

## 2018 Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government

# What's new or changing

- The Minister for Local Government, the Hon. Gabrielle Upton MP, announced the winners of the eleventh annual Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government at Parliament House on 7 March 2018.
- The Awards were established to recognise the outstanding contributions and achievements of women in local government in NSW. The awards are delivered in partnership with the Minister for Women, the Hon. Tanya Davies MP.

## **Key points**

Winners of the 2018 Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government are:

## **Elected Representative from a Metropolitan Council**

Winner: Clr Lucille McKenna (Inner West Council)

#### **Elected Representative from a Rural or Regional Council**

Winner: Clr Tegan Swan (Coffs Harbour City Council)

#### **GM/Senior Staff Member – Metropolitan Council**

- Winner: Simone Cook (Canterbury Bankstown Council)
- Highly commended: Meredith Wallace (Bayside Council)

#### **GM/Senior Staff Member – Rural or Regional Council**

- Winner: Rebecca Ryan (Blayney Shire Council)
- Highly commended: Fiona Plesman (Muswellbrook Shire Council)

#### Non-Senior Staff Member – Metropolitan Council

- Winner: Turkan Aksoy (Canterbury Bankstown Council)
- Highly commended: Emily Raymond (Newcastle City Council)
- Highly commended: Carol Ashworth (Blacktown City Council)

#### Non-Senior Staff Member – Rural or Regional Council

- Winner: Maree Edwards (Lake Macquarie City Council)
- Highly commended: Gina Mobayed (Goulburn Mulwaree Council)

#### Women in a Non-Traditional Role – Metropolitan Council

- Winner: Tracy Moroney (Bayside Council)
- Winner: Mary-Anne Priest (City of Sydney Council)

# Women in a Non-Traditional Role - Rural or Regional Council

- Winner: Teena Riley (Goulburn Mulwaree Council)
- Highly commended: Cate Fennell (Parkes Shire Council)

## Women in traineeships or apprenticeships - Metropolitan Council

Winner: Rae-Anne Young (Blacktown City Council)

### Women in traineeships or apprenticeships - Rural or Regional Council

Winner: Breanna Green (Gunnedah Shire Council)

## Where to go for further information

• Further information about the recipients of the 2018 Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government is available on the OLG website at <a href="https://www.olg.nsw.gov.au">www.olg.nsw.gov.au</a>.

Tim Hurst Acting Chief Executive