

Circular to Councils

Circular Details	17-03 / Tuesday 7 March 2017 / A536930
Previous Circular	Circular No 16-03
Who should read this	Councillors, General Managers and council staff
Contact	Client Services 02 4428 4100
	WomensAwards@olg.nsw.gov.au
Action required	Information

2017 Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government

What's new or changing

The Minister for Local Government, the Hon. Gabrielle Upton MP announced the winners of the tenth annual Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government at Parliament House on 7 March 2017.

The Awards were established to recognise the outstanding contributions and achievements of women in local government in NSW. The awards are delivered in partnership with the Minister for Women, the Hon. Tanya Davies MP.

Key points

Winners of the 2017 Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government are:

Elected Representative from a Metropolitan Council

Winner: Councillor Jennifer Anderson, Ku-ring-gai Council

Special Achievement Award

Councillor Judith Rutherford AM, Willoughby City Council

Elected Representative from a Rural or Regional Council

- Winner: Councillor Kristy McBain, Bega Valley Shire Council
- Highly Commended: Councillor Jenny Clarke, Narrandera Shire Council

Senior Staff Member - Metropolitan Council

- Winner: Julie Vaughan, Central Coast Council
- Highly Commended: Marissa Racomelara, Georges River Council
- Highly Commended: Gail Connolly, Georges River Council

Senior Staff Member – Rural or Regional Council

Winner: Margot Stork, Murray River Council

Non-Senior Staff Member – Metropolitan Council

- Winner: Petrina Nelson, City of Canada Bay Council
- Highly Commended: Adama Kamara, Cumberland Council

Non-Senior Staff Member – Rural or Regional Council

Winner: Debra Hilton, Gunnedah Shire Council

Women in a Non-Traditional Role – Metropolitan Council

- Winner: Martina Fletcher, Blacktown City Council
- Highly Commended: Kelly Loveridge, Inner West Council

Women in a Non-Traditional Role – Rural or Regional Council

- Winner: Megan Cone, Armidale Regional Council
- Highly Commended: Maree Brennan, Kyogle Council

Where to go for further information

Further information about the recipients of the 2017 Ministers' Awards for Women in Local Government is available on the OLG website at www.olg.nsw.gov.au.

Tim Hurst Acting Chief Executive